Notices

A bit overwhelmed GF of recovering heroin addict

Old 09-29-2015, 10:16 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

A bit overwhelmed GF of recovering heroin addict

Hi there. I'm Serasan, and I'm new here (as to be expected).

I'm not sure where to begin, so I'll begin with myself. I'm a 24yo grad student in biochemistry. I generally struggle with anxiety and depression, but after growing up with (in denial) alcoholic father and step-mother, I've been one to avoid drinking and never done any drugs.

Naturally, this makes it difficult for me to understand where my bf is coming from at times. His family all had issues with addiction to either drugs or alcohol, and he started using street drugs at a young age. He's been in recovery or getting better the last few years- although I don't know much because we've only been together for a bit more than four months.

Really, I'm here because I want to see what other SOs, family, or friends have gone through with an addict. The good and the bad extremes I should expect and how to best take care of myself are also things I'm interested in reading about. And somewhere I can post without feeling under pressure.

He OD'd a little over a week ago and I had to call 911 because he was dying. Luckily he had told me about his drug problem about a week before that so I could guess what was going on. I felt clueless and scared and like I had no idea what was going on. I had the choice (and technically always will of course) to keep on staying with him or to leave him. I chose to stay.

I have to get back to work else I'd probably go from writing a post that's long to absurdly long, but expect to see me lurking around the forums and reading everything I can.
Old 09-29-2015, 10:38 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
saoutchik

Hi Serasan, welcome to SR

Sorry to hear what you are going through. I can't offer much in the way of advice as I am a recovering alcoholic, not heroin user.