Notices

Why is this so hard?

Old 09-11-2015, 11:38 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Why is this so hard?

I'm new here, and I'm hoping this can help. I'm struggling with, well, with why stopping drinking is do difficult. I am an accomplished athlete--I've run a handful of 1/2 marathons (drinking during training the whole time) and I still train regularly. I have a good job--one I love, but doesn't pay what I love. I work with kids and I feel like a hypocrite.

I began this habit of drinking about 8-9 years ago or so. It was a means to relax at the end of the day. I worked as a server and I gave myself one drink and a shower to get over the stress of my shift. Yet, it has morphed into a daily activity-and most definitely more than one drink! I am disappointed in how I've let it go so far. Normal people don't behave this way.

I've been looking up all means of assistance. I'm too embarrassed to go to meetings-that would feel like an ultimate defeat. I know there's a light at the end of the tunnel, but I'm struggling.

Thanks for reading.
Old 09-11-2015, 11:52 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Welcome! Don't dismiss meetings so easily. That's not admitting defeat, it's doing something to save yourself.

I hope the support here can help you get sober for good.
Old 09-11-2015, 12:05 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR. We have a chat meeting here tonight at 9 central time. They really help me, as well as reading the boards and asking for help when I need it.
Glad to meet you.
Old 09-11-2015, 12:05 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Welcome to SR lakeside and thanks for sharing. For most of us our drinking started out innocently/moderately as well. And in most cases it turned into something far worse. First off, congratulations on making the decision to seek help now and consider yourself lucky to have done so while you still have your health, job and other things many lost due to alcohol.