Notices

Help maybe

Old 09-08-2015, 08:36 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Help maybe

I've been lurking around this site for a few months. I think I probably need help. Probably is probably an understatement. I feel so guilty. I know I drink way too much. Every day. Sometimes 10 beers plus sneak swigs from the bottle the in the cabinet. I have my own 9 year old daughter plus my soon to be husband's 8 and 12 year old girls. I'm getting married in three weeks and I'm afraid to quit drinking before then. I'm having anxiety attacks now every day and I don't know why. I've been too afraid or unsure of where to post on here. I'm not even sure how to follow this thread. I hope I can. I could use some advice.

Ps. I've been drinking for 14 years

Last edited by nebrgrl; 09-08-2015 at 08:37 PM. Reason: More info
Old 09-08-2015, 08:51 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi nebrgrl It looks like you posted in the right section. Welcome
Old 09-08-2015, 08:56 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Sobriety is Traditional

Welcome, Nebgrl!

I would recommend quitting drinking as soon as possible. If you can't get to a doctor soon, perhaps consider going to the ER or a detox facility? Alcohol withdrawal can be dangerous.
Old 09-08-2015, 08:56 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Sober since 10th April 2012

Hi Neb, I'm not sure how old you are but I quit drinking in my 50s after it gradually becoming a problem over the years. Lots of people do it when they become aware that what was fun and normal when they were younger is negatively impacting on their lives and relationships, plus getting worse. You won't be alone, I promise you.

The main hurdle for me was to realise I couldn't moderate my drinking in the long term. I might quit for a while, get over-confident, start slowly and build up to worse than I was before. When my doctor told me I had to quit completely I felt a stab of fear. This is quite normal, and you can work through it.