Notices

I'm back, I need help

Old 08-01-2015, 09:15 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm back, I need help

Hello SR forums! It's been over a year since I posted and I'm not proud to admit it's been more of the same for me. I've achieved great success in this time: I'm now a manager, I have a brand new car. I manage my financial obligations. I've been doing these things for over a year now. The rub: I haven't quit alcohol. And I really want to. I feel the aftereffects the next day. The anxiety. The guilt. That I'm not "myself". I've done a great job of hiding it and career-wise I'm rocking it out. Things are better now then when I took over the store last May. But I know I'm killing myself and I can't deal with feelings of self-destruction/self loathing that accompany this drinking. I want out. For good. If you look up my older posts you'll see that I found a girlfriend last year. She moved away for a job and I tried really hard to make the travels and make it work. In the end, she left me. Had nothing to do w/ alcohol. Now I'm alone and self medicating per usual and I'm just fed up. I work 48 hours a week minimum and I care a lot about my career. The messed up part about that? I've been drinking the entire time. "Functional" alcoholic. I don't want to be "any" kind of alcoholic but I guess that's not up to me. In the end I have a choice. Stop any alcohol intake or be a practicing alcoholic. I really don't want to be a practicing alcoholic any longer!
Old 08-01-2015, 09:20 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Welcome back Blowfish, glad you came back seeking help. Have you given any thought as to what method or plan you might use to quit? I know the feeling of being fed up, I was there at one point not all that long ago too.
Old 08-01-2015, 09:22 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome back blowfish - sounds to me like you have every reason in the world to quit

D
Old 08-01-2015, 09:33 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by Dee74 View Post