Notices

Wedding this Weekend :/

Old 07-14-2015, 03:07 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Wedding this Weekend :/

Hey SR,
Looking for some advice, I have a wedding this weekend (open bar) and it will be the first time I'm seeing some friends that I normally get trashed with. I am only on day 2 but I am really determined. This is my first time even considering being a person who doesn't drink. I'm freaking out a little. I know that I will be seated with my two biggest trigger friends and they will be watching me like a hawk. I'm not ready to tell them that I want to do this yet. I'm afraid everyone will think I'm pregnant if I'm not drinking. This is a group of friends who will grill me.
I asked my husband if maybe we could put two glasses of wine beside eachother and then I could pretend to drink mine and he could drink them both (lol) and he said he would, but I don't even know if they will fall for it/ I feel like an idiot for wanting to trick people bc I'm too much of a coward to say no.
But I know if I say no they will try to convince me to, and I don't think I'm strong enough to hold them off all night. not yet.
What do you do, in these early days, in a hopeless situation like this?
Old 07-14-2015, 03:17 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Do your best

Do you have to go its a massive ask if your on day 2
Old 07-14-2015, 03:27 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I'm g,ad to read a cincern about this, but I also read some things that concern me. One of them the concern of what others think. You shouldn't care what other think about you not drinking. If they have a problem with you not drinking, it's their problem. If they start grilling you about it a d try to get ya to drink they aren't friends.
The two wine glass thing.... Reads like asking to be led from temptation then slapping it right in front of ya. Seems rather insane to do that.
Three things I make absolutely certain I have when I go somewhere alcohol is served:
Right motive
Fit spiritual condition
An escape route.