Notices

I got my CPT!!

Old 07-01-2015, 06:35 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I got my CPT!!

I've been posting on here for a while, but I still consider myself a "newcomer." For those who've read my posts, you might know that I started studying Personal Training over a year ago. I had been laid off, I was bored with spending all my time applying jobs, so I began putting energy into the gym.

Thinking it would be a walk in the park, I decided to enroll in an accredited CPT program. Between interviews and tweaking my resume, I wanted to learn - for my own personal knowledge - what I could be doing better at the gym.

I ended up learning much more, and the program was much more challenging than I expected. I failed the exam the first time I took it in February. But after working with some of ACE's amazing tutors for the past few months, today I finally passed my exam and am now officially an ACE Certified Personal Trainer.

As far as the booze goes, I'm admittedly far from perfect. I abstained for a week before my exam, spending sleepless nights cramming bits of information into my head. I even used my addiction to help me study, telling myself, "if I pass, I'm done with booze."

Throughout the three hour exam, booze crossed my mind. "If I fail, will I get drunk?" "If I pass, will I really go sober?" The answer to both is "No." I did pass, I'm not drunk. But when I finally got the confirmation that I passed the exam, I was hit with something I didn't expect.

When I began, I was actively focusing on fitness because it kept me out of trouble while I was unemployed. I enrolled in the program because I liked the physical results I was seeing and wanted to perfect them. Throughout the entire process, I was drinking relatively regularly, but also recognizing how fitness had kept me from becoming a complete train wreck of an alcoholic.