Notices

First foray into sobriety

Old 06-25-2015, 06:21 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

First foray into sobriety

Hello there.

I've been drinking almost every evening since I was about 17 years old. I'm now 37 and 4 days ago I decided 20 years is enough.

I'm what I guess you would call a functioning alcoholic. I missed maybe 10 days of work due to a hangover over that 20 year period. (Way less than most non-alcoholics I'd wager) I was also never abusive to myself, or those around me. No DUIs, no drunken brawls in back alleys. In fact, I know I'm a better, approachable person to be around when I'm lubricated, as it were.

The reason I started drinking every night was my older brother did, and I kind of copied him. At that point, when I was 17 it was a 4 pack of beer every night after work. It became a habit - a way to unwind. Over the 20 years I progressed from beer to wine and I now have 2 bottle of wine a night. Every night, without fail. I doesn't even get me drunk and I rarely wake with a hangover.

Sober, I'm awkward. I shy away from human contact. At work I avoid having to make phone calls, I dislike socializing. I have hardly any friends because somehow I get ashamed to be me. I don't talk to anyone if I can avoid it.

After a drink or two I open up and am a much better person to be around. It sucks, but sadly it's a fact. I just don't know if my misanthropy is how I am normally or if the booze made me that way. Will I eventually be that open, talkative person after a year of sobriety?
I don't know.

On Monday, I decided to stop drinking and so far it's been OK. I've barely had any cravings at all. I've not slept great, but I'm 3 and a half days since my last drink and I feel no ill effects. No DTs, cold sweats, nausea, nothing. This is the longest I've gone in 20 years.