SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   How it began and why it continues. How does one empower the powerless? (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/368258-how-began-why-continues-how-does-one-empower-powerless.html)

eastboundndown 05-27-2015 07:15 PM

How it began and why it continues. How does one empower the powerless?

It began after my gf just up and left me a month before she graduated and we were moving in together. It continued because every time I was sober (opiates, benzos btw) all the feelings, pain, anger, and depression continued so I continued to use.
See, my future was planned out. I graduated, she would graduate and then WE would continue. It's been 5 years and I still have no direction other than to meet a drug dealer and go to work to pay for said drugs.

I've stayed sober for a while, I've gone back and forth.

I just can't get past her. I can't get past the 'forever' we had planned and have one for myself. I've been in two relationships since and they both ended horribly because I was too afraid to care. I just wanted someone around. I'm the guy who called his then current gf by his ex'es name.

So I guess there are two parts of this question:
When you make the mistake I made and had everything planned out and achieved the goals I set for myself and now I just feel like I live in a filthy world where all we do is work to pay bills what do I do? What are my goals now? I can't very well make it a goal to find someone to love because, let's be real, it just doesn't work that way.

and second, with me being powerless over these drugs, how does one empower themselves? especially when they are haunted by the past and doesn't see a future (have goals, friends, kids, spouse, etc).

Dee74 05-27-2015 07:19 PM