Notices

Trying to get sober and stay that way

Old 05-23-2015, 10:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Trying to get sober and stay that way

Hi everyone. I am new to this forum and wanted to introduce myself.

I am a married 37 y.o. with two young daughters. Been with my wife for 14 years. I have a PhD in history and teach at a major university on the west coast. I am also a published novelist. However, I have a drinking problem.

I never drank regularly until I was 32, but it has been an on-again, off-again problem ever since, and has caused some embarrassing moments and serious strain in my marriage.

Over the last year, I have cut back on my drinking extensively, but I'm still drinking too much and still hiding it from my wife. Sometimes she can tell, sometimes she can't. I do stupid things like pound a malt liquor on the way home from work--something that would once have been inconceivable to me, but is now commonplace.

I have demonstrated the ability to cut back on my drinking, but the pattern always repeats itself. I'm pretty sure I'm an alcoholic, and I'd like to just stop and be done with it, but as many of you no doubt know, it's not quite that easy.

I'm afraid that this will end with a DUI or some disastrous Mel Gibson moment. Today I'm trying to resist the urge to drink. Thanks for your time.
Old 05-23-2015, 10:33 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Hears The Voice

Welcome to SR!

Originally Posted by DrCaesar View Post
I do stupid things like pound a malt liquor on the way home from work--something that would once have been inconceivable to me, but is now commonplace.
I went through this phase, too. I am now the (not so) proud owner of a very long list of things I thought I'd never do.

It will never be easier to quit than it is today. Every drink you take makes it harder to say no to the next one.

Best of Luck on Your Journey.
Old 05-23-2015, 10:35 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome