Notices

The Change Needed

Old 05-13-2015, 08:36 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

The Change Needed

So, I have been drinking for quite a few years now and I feel that it is time for change. The main reason I wanna cool it with the drinking is because of my health. After sharing news about my drinking with my doctor, she ran some blood tests on me, with an emphasis on my liver. And I came out with a clean bill of health. But I do not wanna push my luck on that front. Since I've been drinking straight vodka for some time now , I'm not completely convinced my liver is in good shape. So she's gonna run a scan on my upper abdomen in the next few weeks, just to make sure and put me at complete ease.

Not too long ago I was referred to a therapist and have been going to my scheduled meetings judiciously. I've been going to my meetings and all, but after noticing my meetings becoming redundant. I expressed my wish to my therapist that I needed something to change because our talks seemed to be going in circles. She pointed out the overall theme in my lamentations was my drinking. Wheter it was stuff in my professional life, my social life (or lack of), my family life, it seemed that every thing takes a back seat to my drinking. So, before my next meeting I was given as hw to attend one AA meeting. That's it. Just go into one of them.

I was wanting to go to a meeting at the end of last year cuz I do realize I have a problem, but I procrastinated long enough that I had forgotten about it. But, tomorrow I actually plan on going to my first meeting that is pretty close to my home. I thought I could stop drinking excessively by just not drinking, but the truth is it just overtakes everything that I thought were important.

Could anyone give me some insight on what to expect? I just get weirded out by strangers being critical of me, and my shortcomings. This is the main reason I hold back on ever going to an AA meeting.
Old 05-13-2015, 08:46 PM
  # 2 (permalink)