Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > New to Addiction and Recovery? > Newcomers to Recovery
Reload this Page >

applying for Police constable job have to mention meds I am on?

Notices

applying for Police constable job have to mention meds I am on?

Old 04-30-2015, 05:04 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Ok guys, here is a good question.
I decided to change my career (professional photographer after 7 years in the job) and get back into the police force. In Holland I studied for police officer for one year but it was not the right time, I was 26 and life was a mess.

I now want to give it a go in Australia, being over 3 months sober, one thing is for sure I never want to drink again!! I have lost 16 kilos, my health is better than ever before, emotionally I'm doing really well, I work in retail as a second job, not earning much.

I feel stable enough to apply, I'm confident I can do this,my therapist agrees, she reckons that police auxiliary would be def. Something for me. I am of good character too. Never had a dui or been arrested, no records at all.

On the application forms they want go know if I have an illness and what meds I am on. I mentioned mild depression, but do I mention Naltrexone Google says it's to treat heroin/alcohol addiction, and Campral Google says to treat alcoholism.

Suppose I could always refer them to my therapist/psychologist who cn confirm that I am stable and doing great! She is incredibly impressed with me how well I am doing, not relapsing, no urges, strong character etc.

Is it anyone's business? Can I not mention these two meds in an application to become police officer? Is it lying? Can I ask my doc to not tell them? can I ask the detox clinic doc to keep it a secret?
I might most likely not even have a chance if they know I am an alco.
Like I said, I know one thing for sure and that is that I won't drink again. I am happy with my life now.