SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   Trying to quit Drinking is hard (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/365967-trying-quit-drinking-hard.html)

Drummer5000 04-29-2015 11:11 AM

Trying to quit Drinking is hard

Reasons I want to quit.

My marriage hurts when I drink.

I am sure it is hurting my health.

I am convicted by the Holy Spirit to quit, and cannot stand before God when I drink.

I am studying to be a pastor at a seminary.

So... How do I start. Things I've tried

I told my wife I had snuck alcohol and she got pretty mad. I have told her before that I was trying to quit and at this point she is losing hope in me. She is pretty sick of dealing with it at all.

I have a good friend who can keep me accountable and has been, but it doesn't really help a ton.

I've never done AA or anything like it but may consider it, although I am incredibly busy with studies. Help me!

Coldfusion 04-29-2015 11:18 AM

Welcome to SoberRecovery, Drummer!

You'll find this site to be a great source opf inspiration and information. Read around and post often!

Many communities have Christian "Celebrate Recovery" meetings, and you may find this program more attractive than AA.

Drummer5000 04-29-2015 11:48 AM

Thank you so much! I felt weird about it but called and left a message to a group nearby.

Berrybean 04-29-2015 12:02 PM

Originally Posted by Drummer5000 (Post 5344707)

I've never done AA or anything like it but may consider it, although I am incredibly busy with studies. Help me!