SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   Dredging the dirt (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/365696-dredging-dirt.html)

TennantSmith 04-26-2015 08:09 AM

Dredging the dirt

I've decided to restart counseling. I'm going to start making calls tomorrow. I realize that there is so much pain going on and it's not going to disappear by itself.

I want sobriety. But I also want recovery. It's time to dredge the dirt. The rape was about 4 years ago and I've done nothing to deal with it. I've stuffed it, pretended I'm okay, journaled and drank. The sad part is that besides being a social worker, I am also a certified Victim's Advocate.

People reach out to me a lot for resources to heal their own pain. But as I learned in school and from my mom, I need to put oxygen on myself.

It feels good knowing I am at the point where I'm going to do whatever it takes to recover. It's also scary. But my desire for a full life outweighs my fear of the pain that is going to come. I guess I'm willing to trade one kind of pain for another. The pain of denial for the pain of healing.

But good grief, why are those of us who help others so unwilling to help ourselves?

Anyway, another step in my recovery. I'm ready and it's time.

I considered going to an addiction counselor but then realized that my addiction is a by-product of other things: abuse and the rape. So I'm going to dig deeper.

I want to cry right now. It's a mix of relief and pain. But at some point, I had to stop letting fear dictate my life. I've learned many times over that the fear of something usually is worse than the actual something.

So, this is what real recovery feels like? That moment when your authentic self shouts, you listen, and start fighting like hell?