SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   New here...day four (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/364399-new-here-day-four.html)

girlwiththedog 04-10-2015 08:26 AM

New here...day four

Hi Everyone, this is my first post-first joined in 2011-about time I would think! I’m new to posting on Sober Recovery as well as posting in general-so happy to have pointers.

I have been drinking almost daily for over 10 years and quite frankly, I have wasted too much of my life drinking, hungover, drowning in shame. Today is day four for me, and I am facing my first weekend sober. I know I will be asked about my plan- My plan only involves today and the weekend, so open to suggestions.

Tonight will be my first night out with people socially in over two months. I have terrible social anxiety and tend to isolate. I also have commitment issues and am not very reliable. I tend to bail at the last moment. I will be going out for a dinner with friends to a restaurant that does not have a liquor license. I will then be driven home directly by two friends (one doesn’t drink, one rarely drinks). On the rare event I beat my anxiety and manage to be social, I generally come home buzzing with energy and that is when I drink. Instead I plan to have a warm bath to calm my energy, and then post on here.

I am also concerned for the weekend. My hubby works nights all weekend so I will be alone. I was thinking that going to an AA meeting on Saturday evening might be a good idea…but I’m scared.