Notices

really need to try harder

Old 03-23-2015, 01:30 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

really need to try harder

So, I'm back. Its been a year or so since I tried to quit drinking so here I go again. I truly do realize now that I am an alcoholic (something I always pretended I wasn't)... Truthfully, I have probably had a real problem with alcohol since I was around 27 or 28. That would mean that I've been steadily abusing for 13 or 14 years....Yikes!

I'm a very high functioning alcoholic so that has probably allowed me to hide from the reality of the situation. As you would suspect, my drinking has always steadily increased over the years. What once was 3 or 4 beers can easily now be a pint or two of vodka at night. I drink almost every day and find some kind of solace when I only have a few drinks.

The wheels really came off and I've been drinking more heavily since about 7 months ago when my wife left me. At the time I again lied to myself and blamed her....but alcohol was certainly one of the major problems. Hell, I pretty much worked, played with our kids, and then got drunk on the couch. Quite a husband.....

So. Here I am. I'm going to try to be open where before I was closed. I am going to try to listen when before I could/would not. I hope to be better. For me....my kids....and maybe one day for someone else.

uggghhhh.....it looks like a long way away from here.....
Old 03-23-2015, 01:40 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Do your best

Welcome bk Tryingthistime have you got a sober plan
Old 03-23-2015, 01:41 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I hate to admit my weaknesses and failings too but as bad as that is, it's worse not to. You start out lying to others it's a small step to lying to yourself.