Notices

Antabuse?

Old 03-17-2015, 12:37 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Antabuse?

I'm not asking for medical advice here, which I know if verboten but I am thinking of asking my doctor for it for the security of longer term sobriety.

I don't know if I have a short and selective memory about the horrors I experience when in full blown drinking mode or whether the addiction tries to convince me that this time it will be different, or if it is just that cravings win out more often than not, but whatever it is after a few weeks or months I really struggle and often fail to stay sober. The last time I went pretty much eleven months and really thought I had made it and then bang.

Anyway I would be interested in people's views and experiences of using it as a means of taking drinking off the table as an option.
Old 03-17-2015, 12:55 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I have no experience with it., The reason why I always direct folks to Drs is I understand it may not be suitable for everyone.

D
Old 03-17-2015, 02:29 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I don't know any about it, Mentium. But few things are as bad for us as being drunk all the time so it might be worth talking to the doc about.

Hang in there!
Old 03-17-2015, 05:23 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Kaleidoscope eyes

From what I've heard from a friend who is now, unfortunately, not with us (but died of old age) it was horrific when he drank with it. Good deterrent perhaps but I dunno. xx
Old 03-17-2015, 05:48 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

If your experience is that a relapse comes out of the blue and you start drinking outside of your conscious awareness, then Antabuse would be useful in preventing that.

If you subscribe to the theory that relapses start well before the drinking, then a person on Antabuse would probably stop taking it in anticipation of drinking.
Old 03-17-2015, 05:54 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  

very powerful drug

Originally Posted by Mentium View Post