Notices

Finally I accepted

Old 03-04-2015, 05:02 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Finally I accepted

I finally accepted the fact that I have an issue. Now that I've done this, where do I go from here? The person I'm in a relationship with doesn't think they have an issue, I'm the only one, so I'll be the only one to stop. Is it possible to continue a relationship where one person is sober and the other is not? I'm new to all this and any advice will help. Thanks!
Old 03-04-2015, 05:29 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

If you have a problem with an addiction then the best thing to do is stop.

Yes it can cause strains if your partner doesn't support you but at least tell your partner you want to quit and ask for their support. I would not expect your partner to quit with you - only they can make their own decision.
Old 03-04-2015, 05:29 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I think there are varying degrees to the question. My bottomline opinion is that it is absolutely possible, the question is would you want to. My wife drinks, I dont. She's a normie, so it causes us no stress at all. If she was an alcoholic or alcohol abuser, while I would still love her, I'm sure that after a while I would just get sick of it and move on. My sobriety was way too expensive and is too valuable for me to suffer through someone else's idiocy (mine was enough thank you). Case in point: I had a friend come visit me about 1 year ago. Surely an alcoholic, but a good friend. That said, we were out to dinner, and he started acting up - got loud, used foul language, etc. all to be funny. I literally got up, left the restaurant, and sent him packing when he finally made it home
Old 03-04-2015, 05:44 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Hears The Voice

Welcome to SR!

Originally Posted by EHoll1421 View Post
I finally accepted the fact that I have an issue. Now that I've done this, where do I go from here?
Where do you want to go?
Old 03-04-2015, 06:15 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Administrator