SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   New to recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/361111-new-recovery.html)

Top 03-04-2015 02:26 AM

New to recovery

Hi I'm new to recovery, today is my first day sober from alcohol, I have found this web site really useful and inspiring. I have been an alcoholic most of my life, today I have decided enough is enough, I want to take back control of my life. Do the cravings ever go away? Any advice is welcome, need to ring my GP and have a shower, hope in 30 days time I am still sober. Does any one go AA, does it help?

Nonsensical 03-04-2015 02:32 AM

Welcome to SR. Congratulations on your decision to live a sober life!

YES! The cravings eventually go away. It varies from person to person, but most of us get some good relief from them in about 90 days. Just have to stay resolved and find distractions until it happens.

Best of Luck on Your Journey! :ring

aldo1981 03-04-2015 02:34 AM

Welcome Top

You are making the best decision of your life today and yes AA will help you. In the early stages of giving up I wish I had gone sooner as it has helped me massively.

You will get a lot of support here and good advice so you are not alone every thing you think and experience at some point we have to so keep posting your thoughts and feelings

Welcome to the group, if you have any questions about the AA meetings give me a message I am new to it also but have had a few months there and found them great

GracieLou 03-04-2015 02:34 AM

Welcome to SR!

Take it one day at a time.

I attend AA meetings and work the AA program. I will be sober almost two years in a couple weeks. Go to a meeting. What's the worse that can happen?

Take it slow, get information and above all else, don't drink today.