Notices

AA or nor AA

Old 03-01-2015, 11:17 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

AA or nor AA

Spending more and more time on SR, I was surprised to see the number of members who are not in AA but practice another type of recovery. I am new at recovery and all I heard from my rehab to my psychiatrist is that AA was the path so I followed. I am doing great so i will continue on my path but out of curiosity i was wondering how many of you are not AA and what recovery you chose to follow
Old 03-01-2015, 11:23 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I followed no programme as such, but I used the community here extensively.

D
Old 03-01-2015, 11:52 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Im in AA.
I tried other programs, AA was only thing that worked for me.
But we are all different and all on our own path, so pick something that works for YOU

All the best
Old 03-02-2015, 12:01 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Winging it by myself as usual. Here is a good resource, it's good to know that others have been through similar struggles.
Old 03-02-2015, 01:53 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Sober Soldier

I do not use AA but SR here as been extremely helpful to me. I rely on the support and wisdom here combined with an unrelenting desire to improve myself.
Old 03-02-2015, 02:24 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  
The Long and Winding Road....

I think the idea is to pursue whatever works for you with great gusto

for me AA helps but just as important is exercise, diet and of course SR

v
Old 03-02-2015, 02:55 AM
  # 7 (permalink)  

If I had not found SR I woulb be going to meetings. SR seems to to work just fine for support--better actually.
Old 03-02-2015, 03:07 AM
  # 8 (permalink)  

I'm not in AA either. This place seems to be enough this time around but I'm more committed. I think that's all that really matters is how serious you are about it. If you really want to stop you will if you're lying to yourself(which I've done plenty of)the best program in the world won't help.
Old 03-02-2015, 03:27 AM
  # 9 (permalink)