Notices

What I didn't post

Old 03-01-2015, 05:48 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

What I didn't post

During my travels today I was thinking up a story that I would post on SR. Posting stuff is therapeutic, right? I am known to be a blowhard and spinner of tall tales which isn't unusual unusual for drunks. Look at funny guys like WC Fields and Robin Williams, poor guy, and lots of standup comedians. They were all drunks or addicts.

Then I started to worry that my story would be too long for SR, you know exceed the character limit, and also my constant fear that it might interfere with someone's recovery, unless I disclosed that I have been drinking for 39 years, well of course not continually, first got drunk at 13, numerous sober interludes of days, weeks years etc., etc, the point being that I didn't want younger people to think they will go through what I'm going through after 37 fun filled days of sobriety (I had to verify that with an online date calculator).

Then I worried that I'd feel silly the next day and have to ghost from the forum, despite never worrying about what I said to my drunk friends, because in the hardcore bars, the next day nobody remembered who said what the next evening. Everyday is groundhog's day. Next, I thought I didn’t need to post at all to get therapeutic benefit, because of my belief that if you think about a thing long enough, it's just as good as doing it. On the other hand I felt readers might get some benefit even if they thought the story was unfunny, stupid or pathetic because they would hence feel better and encouraged about their own recovery, or maybe someone would cut & paste it into a mental health journal as a case study of derangement, and that might help doctors understand addiction.