Notices

Alcohol helped calm my nerves, now what?

Old 02-28-2015, 12:46 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Alcohol helped calm my nerves, now what?

Im fairly new to SR, but need advice about something Im about to face sober. As an RA who has experienced sobriety & relapses for the past 3 years, I hv faced many situations in life that I hv learned to cope with being sober. However Im about to face a situation that is something I really struggle with that probably seems juvenile to most. I debated on posting this, but maybe one of you out there has some advice that can help. So laugh if you want but I have major anxiety about going on first dates being sober. After a few relapses, I learned that I relied on alcohol to calm my nerves before meeting someone in person for the first time in a romantic setting. I have avoided social situations a lot bc of this anxiety. But I finally learned that for myself personally, that I become very unhappy if I don't hv a social life & do all sobriety (vice versus too). To hv success in sobriety I learned I need a balance of the two... Just still learning as I go.