Notices

I'm back... need to try sobriety again

Old 02-26-2015, 04:27 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm back... need to try sobriety again

Hi everyone,

So.. I'm back. I have been drinking way too much for the past several months, after short stints of sobriety here and there ranging from a week to about a month. I always cave in and end up picking up a 12 pack of beer on the way home from work and it snowballs from there.

I absolutely need to make it work this time though. The past few months, I have been paying attention to just how much "fun" drinking is for me. I almost always drink alone, watching sports or You Tube music videos, when my fiance and kids are gone to bed. I drink 12 beer or so, then go to bed. If I have to work the next day, it's pretty brutal. I have the spins and feel nauseous and never get any work done whatsoever. Drinking just isn't fun for me anymore, and in fact it hasn't been for quite some time. So why do I still do it? I kept racking my brain to try and find out the answer to this question. And then, finally, it occurred to me - I don't drink because I like the feeling of being drugged, instead, I drink to escape being sober for a little while. Why do I do this? It's like an escape, a room within my head, where I have the ability to enter and close the door behind me, and temporarily escape from my life. Which is great, by the way. I have so much to be thankful for, I have a beautiful fiance, two beautiful children, nice house, great job, etc., etc., etc. Why do I feel the need to escape from this sometimes?