Notices

A Struggling Life

Old 01-28-2015, 07:17 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

A Struggling Life

I have been struggling with a lot lately and came across this site today, which has given me the most hope I've had recently...

I received my second DUI last Friday night into Saturday morning, my first happened 4 years ago and I was finally coming to grips that I had moved on in life and that maybe my 1st DUI wouldn't define who I am. I have been tied down with so much guilt and remorse, replaying back in my head what I could have done differently to change my fate from that night. It got so bad that over the past few days I have even contemplated suicide as an easy way out, because as far as I can rationalize my life up to this point has been an utter disappointment, to my parents and those around me. I lost most of my friends after my first DUI, and I can't even bring myself to talk about this second one with those who actually stuck around me. I am currently a teacher but I fear that this 2nd DUI has completely ruined my career in teaching and that I will never get a job again. I spoke to my lawyer who informed me that I have used up all of my second chances and the approach now is just to keep my jail sentence to a minimum. The rest he said, he can't really help me with too much. Teaching is everything to me and I've been in a haze at work this week knowing that it all might be over soon. My parents, my two goddaughters, and my faith in Christ have been the only things keeping the dark suicidal thoughts at bay. I spoke to a friend who has been through this situation and he said things will get worse before they get better, but they will get better. Right now that is really hard for me to cling on to and I find myself battling bouts of depression everyday, not wanting to get out of bed or talk to anyone, because I don't feel worth much of anything.