SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   Hello Everyone 😊 (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/356796-hello-everyone.html)

Aniol 01-16-2015 08:12 PM

Hello Everyone 😊

Hello everyone on this forum my name is Angel an I'm 21 years old. I'm in community college right now and I am also a classical pianist so I'm pretty stoked about that accomplishment. so a little but about my recovery process. My drinking all started I'm high school around 17 years old I didn't drink a lot at all but I know now I am a binge drinker.

I got a DUI when I was 19 and I started to binge drink from there I would say only twice or three times a week and it has gotten worse now that I have turned 21 I had a four day binge recently and am on two days sober now which I am having I believe minor withdrawls? Just insomnia and cold sweats and anxiety.

So I am looking for some positive attitudes on here 😊 also want to mention I just want to slow down my drinking for awhile. I don't know if I am an alcoholic I just wanna slow down a lot so I don't do major damage to myself I am fairly healthy so that's good haha thanks guys 😄

Dee74 01-16-2015 08:15 PM

Hi and welcome Angel :)

I'm afraid I have no experience in successfully slowing down my drinking...once I start all my good intentions go out the window...

does that sound like you too?

D

OnMyWay7 01-16-2015 08:16 PM

Welcome Aniol. Glad you're here. Why not just stop for a month or two. See how you feel - I bet you'll get more playing time in ;)

SoberLeigh 01-16-2015 08:22 PM

Welcome to SR, Aniol.

None of my repeated attempts to slow or moderate my drinking were successful - they were complete failures.

Glad you found SR.

mns1 01-16-2015 08:33 PM

Nice to meet you Aniol.