Notices

Counting Days

Old 01-16-2015, 10:13 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Counting Days

As most of you know, I am new to recovery, and on day 5. I notice pretty much everyone counts the days/weeks/months, ect. I am wondering: is it possible to get to the point where you're like " I just don't drink, it doesn't matter how long since I used to drink" Or is it really important to count the days ?
Old 01-16-2015, 10:23 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Yes.

I think most people do it at the start to encourage themselves. I did for the first thirty days and then month to month until I got a year.

Now I don't really count days, weeks or months. It may dawn in me on the 24th that another month has passed but not always.

If someone asks I don't say I stopped drinking, I simply state I don't drink.
Old 01-16-2015, 10:23 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I think everyone is different - this is a popular topic around here. I used to count days (I don't do AA or anything though)....I had 6.5mths May to end of Nov. then relapsed in Cuba.
I decided to not count again. I just wake up everyday and not drink THAT day.
That's just me though. Counting days works for many people, holds them accountable.
Old 01-16-2015, 10:32 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Welcome Belle,I'm just gonna count the first 30 days.
Old 01-16-2015, 10:50 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Counting days kept me going in the beginning. I felt it was good to have goals.

I forget ever now and then but always love going back and counting....I'm sad like that.

Well done on 5 days that's great.
Old 01-16-2015, 10:51 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  

In the beginning at least. For motivation.
Old 01-16-2015, 10:57 AM
  # 7 (permalink)  
Administrator

Just do whatever works for you.
Old 01-16-2015, 11:09 AM
  # 8 (permalink)  
Cause no harm