Notices

27 Days Sober And Very Lost

Old 08-09-2004, 03:57 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
5 MINUTES AT A TIME

27 Days Sober And Very Lost

HELLO, THIS IS MY FIRST TIME. I HAVE JUST BEGUN A.A.. I AM LOOKING FOR A SPONSOR. I DO NOT KNOW WHAT TO EXPECT . WHAT DO THE SPONSORS DO? IS IT A CONTROL THING OR A SUPPORT THING? I AM VERY CONFUSED. I WAS IN A VERY ALCOHOLIC RELATIONSHIP AND I JOINED IN AND BECAME OUT OF CONTROL. I HAD TO LEAVE MY ALCHOLIC BOYFRIEND(HIS GIRLFRIEND IS JACK DANIELS) AND I HAD TO GET SOBER MYSELF. I AM VERY DEPRESSED, ALONE, AND MISERABLE. IS THERE HOPE? I HAVE A VERY STRESSFUL JOB AND I WANT TO NUMB MY BROKEN HEART AND MY NERVES.

SORRY ABOUT THE CAPS, I FORGOT TO CHANGE OVER. I AM VERY upset right now. here we go. be easy on me.
Old 08-09-2004, 04:49 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
peace2u

Not to worry Sister...we're all hurting pretty bad ourselves. Choosing and using your sponsor is a very important part of your recovery. The only interest a sponsor has is to help you maintain sobriety...so I don't think he/she will be trying to control any aspects of your life. When you do the Fourth step, you can share what you've done with your sponsor and that way the sponsor knows where you're coming from when you're "wigging" out.
(I know I've wigged out a few times.) :yell:
When you discuss your issues with your sponsor...make sure the sponsor understands where you are coming from. If your sponsor makes comments or suggestions that don't sound right...ask them to explain or tell them your concerns about following the suggestions. It's a give-and-take relationship. Don't expect your sponsor to do the work. They are there to guide you based on their own experience. Your recovery is still your responsibility. Make sure your sponsor knows what your triggers are. And above all, call your sponsor when you feel yourself slipping. It's a lot easier to call before you are deep in despair.