Notices

Introduction as a newcomer

Old 12-08-2014, 04:15 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Introduction as a newcomer

Hello everyone. I posted in the Class of December 2014 post but I feel like a standalone post with a bit of my background would be cathartic for me, so here goes...

I've been drinking fairly heavily for the last 8 years. It started out pretty reasonably, I think. Not healthy, but not intensely. In 2011, I can pinpoint it getting bad. At the time I'd been playing poker for a living professionally, and had a bankroll of about 35,000$. A friend of mine died, and I got very depressed... and went through a cycle of pass-out, wake up in time to go to the store as soon as alcohol was legally sold, buy beer or wine, drink, pass-out, repeat.

I blew through the whole of my 35,000$ in probably 4 months of booze.

I never really managed to surface from that pit. I have two DUIs which ended in wrecks that I was lucky to survive (no one hurt). I'm really, really trying to make this my real and true recovery. I'm tired of vomiting. I'm tired of wasting away from lack of nutrition, lack of real sleep. I'm tired of losing jobs or relationships or family or friends. I just want to be better. So, here goes nothing.

I'm not sure what hour I passed out at last night so I can't give an accurate count on the hour of my last drink, but I'm feeling the withdrawal pretty hard right now. I'm shaking, I can't stop my restless legs. But I know for certain that when the store starts selling in three hours, I won't be there. I hope they don't go out of business for my lack of patronage, but my life is more important than their bottom line.

Thanks for your time.
Old 12-08-2014, 04:24 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome to the boards Walkingecho

I really believe that, no matter to what depths we plummeted, we can not only get up again, but we can get back to where we want to be.

It's never too late to write a new ending to your story.