Notices

acceptence?

Old 12-08-2014, 01:13 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

acceptence?

I am having a difficult time fulling accepting that I am an alcoholic. I know I am but don't know how to fully embrace the fact.
I had to be medically detoxed and feel that should have solidified it in my mind. However, every so often the fact I have gone 39 days with out too much trouble makes the idea creep into my mind that maybe it was just situational. Thoughts along the lines of well you were a bartender drinking was just part of the job. I logically know this is not true but can't say I fully feel it.
I have been a heavy drinker for a long time and an extremely heavy drinker the past few years. This is my first time really trying to quit and really want to be successful. unfortunately ideas like "you never REALLY tried to moderate, how do you know you can't?" I don't want to try out of fear of failing.
Has anyone else been through anything similar? How did you go about fully accepting that you were an alcoholic and couldn't moderate?
thanks
Old 12-08-2014, 01:36 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

thats is your addictive voice talking to you and not your rational voice.
Ask yourself the following question: Is your drinking causing problems in your life?
If the answer is yes then you need to sort it out. And in a recent poll on this site over 90% of folks said that moderation was not possible and doomed to failure and that total abstinence was the only way. I include myself in this.
By your own admission you have been an extremely heavy drinker for the past few years. Only you can decide for yourself but I would say its highly likely that you know that you are abusing alcohol.