Notices

I am new here/opiates

Old 11-29-2014, 09:32 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I am new here/opiates

I am very new to this sort of thing. I just recently told my parents that I'm an addict, and I suppose that coming out to them with this info has given me a new sense of openness to outside help with my problem. I started out as a drinker years ago, but now I have moved past drinking to painkillers/opiates. I used to drink whiskey...so much whiskey until I ended up with ulcers and was vomiting blood almost daily... Eventually I was able to overcome the drinking addiction, but not soon after I began taking opiates/painkillers. My drug of choice is h, (up the nose, not IV). I have been an opiate addict for over 3 years now, and I can not seem to overcome my addiction. Several times I have gotten clean for a few days here and there, but I always give in and relapse. I can not afford medical treatment for my problem, and every time I try to quit cold turkey, my will just is not strong enough to get through the sickness. Even when I do get past the sickness, the deep, deep, depression that follows always gets to me and I end up using again. Has anyone here had success without medical treatment, and does anyone have any advice? When I started using I felt like I could handle it, and never expected to become as addicted as I am, but the stress is so overwhelming, and I am quickly realizing that I need help.
Old 11-30-2014, 01:33 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome, Pallas! I don't know much about drug addiction. While I used to dabble with drugs booze was always my DOC. But I'm sure someone will have some good advice.

I'm glad you found SR, Pallas.
Old 11-30-2014, 01:55 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi, I'm sorry to hear about your troubles. I've dabbled with various opiates and think I might have an inclination there, but alcohol has always been the big one for me.

Good luck, you'll get lots of support and advice here. See you around the forums.
Old 11-30-2014, 01:17 PM