Notices

Hungover and miserable.

Old 11-20-2014, 11:40 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hungover and miserable.

Hi, all. I've been tooling around this site for a while and thought it was time I get on board. Anyway, guess I'll just jump right in.
Coming off of a 4 day bender, and I'm absolutely miserable. It's not just the hangover, it's the fact that just a couple of weeks ago I made 18 days sober. That's the longest stretch I've had in a couple years.
I dropped out of college 10 years ago (just to take a break for a semester or two) and have basically been living in a bottle ever since. Holding pattern just working as a waiter and bartender. I've managed over the last few months to go back and finish my degree, but now I'm 41 and feel like I'm still pretty much unemployable. My degree is in music, and I really don't have a CV. I'm still taking some business classes at the community college, but it's going to take quite a few college credits to make up for my complete lack of real world experience.
What I'm finding most difficult to deal with in getting sober is the knowledge that this has to be long-term. Not drinking for a few days or weeks here and there is not going to cut it, I have to quit long-term if there is going to be any hope of moving on with a career...or a life. I need to not just get sober but also learn how to be human again. As long as I still have this doubt that I'll be able to do it I'm afraid to even look for a new job.
Well, this seems to be getting pretty long. And I don't feel I've even scratched the surface. I haven't told anyone in my life that I struggle with this, but it must be common knowledge. I rarely go out, but I probably reek of vodka most days. So, I thought rather than just reading other peoples' posts, I'd post my own. It does seem therapeutic.
I don't know if I'm ready to say that this is the one time that sobriety sticks forever, but I'm not going to drink today. Looks like a couple of sleepless/sweaty nights in my future!