Notices

Day 2

Old 11-18-2014, 05:07 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day 2

I had no desire to drink yesterday. However reading a lot of be posts here did conjure up some thoughts and insecurities in my mind that I'd thought id share. I hope this doesn't come off as insensitive I just want to be honest so I can be open to receiving the best help. I'm aware that my alcoholic mind is creating these excuses and I intend to keep that awareness at the forefront. I will attend my first aa meeting today

*ive been drinking since I was 14 (21 years) yet I don't think I've ever drank enough to have withdrawals. Maybe I'm ok and just need a break for a while
*i have very recently been able to have a couple glasses of wine and then go to bed with no issues
*reading all of these posts by others is creating negative energies and is just pointing out that I'm not that bad
*if I commit fully to being sober, I'm not going to want to be with my friends anymore
*once I fully commit to sobriety, I am putting myself in a position for a possibility of letdown.

Also

I told my wife (who is pregnant) that I'm taking a break from drinking. I'm hesitant to tell her I'm realizing I have a problem. I don't want to scare her

My dad is an alcoholic but has not drank since I was born. Severe alcoholism runs in his family. He does not go to aa. Should I tell him? I don't want him to worry as I'm doing fairly well in life and my parents finally feel that I'm safe

Thanks all
Old 11-18-2014, 05:11 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

welcome to the forum David.
You don't have to tell anyone else you have a problem. If you can just stop and take it in stride and if they notice a difference in you - they will - then just smile to yourself and be thankful.
Old 11-18-2014, 05:20 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Do your best

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Good luck at your meeting

Talk with your pops
Old 11-18-2014, 05:23 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Hello David,