Notices

First Time reaching out - Time to Let it Out

Old 11-08-2014, 01:17 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

First Time reaching out - Time to Let it Out

Hello SoberRecovery members,

This is my first time and day joining a recovery forum and I finally feel that it is time that I talk about and take responsibility for things that I have. I have been a binge drinker ever since I was a senior in high school-I am around 30 now. My drinking has caused me so much pain and suffering while also causing others pain in turn. I have never really talked to anyone about my problems with drinking because I feel ashamed of what I do and also worry that I won't be understood if I did talk. I have lost almost every girlfriend due to drinking. Sometimes when I drink - especially around a girl that I care about - I become insecure and start thinking that they want to be with another guy. This could be from being cheated on in my first real relationship with a girl i loved a lot at the time, although I have been insecure and not have confidence since as early as I can remember. I do have social anxiety that causes me to choke up when trying to speak and fear being called on to speak in front of people. There are only a couple people in my life that are in my comfort zone, but it takes a long time for someone to be.