Notices

Tips for fighting the obsession

Old 11-02-2014, 07:23 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Tips for fighting the obsession

Good Morning,
I am new to the recovery room. I have been a member of AA since May 2014 and had a successful first 87 days. I have relapsed on an off ever since. I have set my new sobriety date for Oct 27. I am really struggling to battle the obsession.....the voice in my head that starts and convinces me to have a drink. I was able to win twice this past week and have stayed sober. If anyone has any tips on how to battle this phenomenon or can share their own story I would be grateful.
Old 11-02-2014, 07:35 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome!

In the early days, changing my routines really helped. When do you usually drink? Try to plan to be doing something very different at that point. Drive home from work a different way, shop at different stores. It helps to break the habit/obsession aspect of alcoholism.
Old 11-02-2014, 07:45 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

choxco, your already doing the important work of addressing the prob. thats great! AA often mentions the "1 day at a time" approach. This helps, but I realized it wasn't enough for me. I figure this approach to be most valuable for the first couple of months, but not a way to live my life, as if enduring the absence of drink.

i would advise you to look at your relapse as a signal to do things a little different this time. try supplementing the AA with other recovery info. If you hear anyone advise that their way is the only way, avoid them. they are wrong. In AA, one of the slogans is "take the best, leave the rest". I apply this to all recovery techniques and info i run into. i continue to research.