Notices

Is rehab the only answer?

Old 10-20-2014, 08:08 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Is rehab the only answer?

Hi all,

I have been battling with alcohol for 6 years. I thought I was too young to be an alcoholic. But at 26 I can't take anymore. I have tried AA-counselling-antabuse- only to get worse. Is rehab the only way? I don't want to continue like this...
Old 10-20-2014, 08:13 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I don't think it's the only way, but it certainly is a good option. Personal experience.

Bunnez
Old 10-20-2014, 08:15 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

It's not the only way, but if you have had no luck on your own and have access to it, maybe give it a try? Rehab is going to be intensive counseling, group meetings, and self-work. There is no easy shortcut to healing from alcohol abuse.

It's all about you making a decision, a promise to yourself to do only that which is good for you.

Then sticking to it.
Old 10-20-2014, 08:15 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I don't know if it is the only answer but it sure is a good one. If you have the opportunity to go I'd snatch it up without hesitation. You are so smart to be putting so much effort into quitting now. I knew at your age that I had a problem but I kept going. Now at 35 I'm in much deeper than I was and have wasted years of my life.
Give rehab a real consideration. I can imagine it seems frightening but really, a month or more of being cared for, or focussing on you and on your healing without the distractions of the outside world, I think it sounds amazing.
Best of luck whatever you decide. I'm sure some others with first hand experience will chime in soon.
Old 10-20-2014, 08:21 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

From my experience re-hab was the thing that finally got me off the merry go-round. While there I met so many people younger than yourself who had already had enough. If you're the one who chooses to go and give yourself to the process, it is such a benefit. It was the best one thing I've ever done for myself.