Notices

22 Days Sober

Old 01-05-2014, 05:43 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

22 Days Sober

As of this morning I am 22 days sober. Here is my story (the Readers Digest Version). I am 32 years old and a former US Marine that served in Fallujah Iraq in 2005 and now I am a successful insurance agent. Until recently I didn't realize I had been struggling with drinking for years. It all became too much this past summer when I reached my breaking point as my grandmother was struggling with altzheimers and I had to take over control to get her into a memory care facility. In retrospect I look at this as a type of intervention and it had a HUGE impact on my life.

I began drinking more and more to push down the feelings of dealing with my grandmother to the point I was having anxiety attacks the day after drinking. I researched the anxiety attacks and while I learned that alcohol could be a contributing factor I didn't realize that it was a snowball effect of years and years of suppressing any feelings at all. I continued to drink because I felt better when I did but the terror began the following day every time.

I finally sought help through a counselor. I made a commitment to stop drinking on December 14th and I have remained clean since then. I have been battling depression in cycles since I stopped drinking and my Dr has prescribed me an antidepressant that I just started 3 days ago. It's been really difficult to begin a new routine BUT the positive reinforcement is that I have lost 10+ pounds already, I am a better father, husband and employee. Stress drinking was the cause of all my problems and I am committed to living clean from here on out.

I would like to hear if anyone has Any pointers for me. Also, if anyone has guidance on the depression and when it will ease. I look forward to becoming a regular part of this community!
Old 01-05-2014, 06:51 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Kaleidoscope eyes