Notices

son coming home

Old 10-12-2014, 10:51 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

son coming home

My 24 year old son checked himself into rehab a week ago. He has called each night and talked about his realization that he is an alcoholic and the help he was getting. Today , he told me he was coming home in a few days and that it was recommended that he not stay alone in his own apartment. I want to support him in his recovery, but I moved to a smaller place when he moved to his apartment. There is not a extra room and the daughter who still lives with me does not have a good relationship with him. I am so worried. I want to help and I want him to be safe, but don't want to enable him. I am new to this and know there are no hard and fast answers, but right now I'm not even sure I have the right questions;
Old 10-12-2014, 11:08 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Maybe you could go to his place and help him clean up and stock the fridge, that's what my mom did and it helped a lot. Hang out until bedtime and repeat. Just an idea. If he's gonna stay sober he's gotta do it for himself but some motherly love can't hurt. Try not to talk/worry about the future around him, just try to be there for him. That's my two pennies. Good luck!
-Ted
Old 10-12-2014, 11:17 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I like the idea of going over to his place to help. Plan fun things in the evening with him like watch movies. Also, give him a recommendation to this site! It really is up to him to stay sober. I used to sneak out of my dad's house when I was staying with him to drink, and I was 30! It sounds like he found a lot of good tools in rehab and he will use them. If someone wants to drink it really doesn't matter what kind of supervision they're locked up in a bedroom. I will say though that having my parents around does help me to stay sober.
Old 10-12-2014, 11:30 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Just another Pickle Man