Notices

Longest Stint

Old 10-10-2014, 02:17 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Longest Stint

Hello all,

Thought I'd post to introduce myself. I'm 29 and I've been drinking regularly for the past 5/6 years. I would usually drink 4 or 5 beers every night or e!very second night. I've never been keen on stronger drinks like wine or spirits but would on rare occasions drink it on top of beer.

I started to think a lot about alcohol and look forward to my beer after 7PM once the kids were in bed. It started to always be on my mind.

I've not drank any alcohol in 3 weeks. I had some cravings 10 to 14 days. After this it was like a switch got pressed. I have absolutely no desire to drink alcohol whatsoever. Very strange to measure I haven't felt like this for years. I can sit with my partner while she has a glass of wine and it doesn't even register with me wanting to drink. This is something I would have thought impossible 3 weeks ago. Is this normal?

I feel amazing not having touched a drop in only 3 weeks.

I honestly don't think I'll have any desire to touch alcohol again. Nor do I want to as I don't want to go back to drinking daily.

Is it normal for it to feel so easy after 3 weeks?

Thanks all.
Old 10-10-2014, 02:21 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to the Forum Blacksnow!!
Old 10-10-2014, 02:27 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

No such thing as "normal"! If you are feeling good, then that's great and you should definitely embrace it. I can only speak for myself and I know that aside from being addicted, I couldn't stop for anymore than three days. Other people have gone for a month without drinking then when they start again, it's completely out of control.

I think a good place to start would be to start reading about alcoholism, not necessarily AA related, just memoirs and stuff. I find them really inspiring in all areas of my life!
Old 10-10-2014, 02:52 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Do your best

Welcome to SR
Old 10-10-2014, 03:02 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Administrator