Notices

Back after painful relapse

Old 09-25-2014, 06:20 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Back after painful relapse

So I've been relapsing for the past few days, drinking after work. Something like 8 cans a night, so not as much as before. But I was still pretty hammered as my tolerance has fallen. Drunk enough so last night I couldn't remember my password for here.

Why did it happen? I guess I was still arrogant, part of me still felt I was bigger than this and I guess I wasn't ready to accept some harsh truths in order to stay sober. I thought I could handle it, well, I can't, couldn't and never will be able to.

I think it was Dee who said something about making a plan instead of just jumping into sobriety and hoping for the best. I'm gonna think about that today when my head levels (which I'm hoping will be before my shift at 6- don't worry, I'm a veteran of working hungover). I need to make a plan to be able to deal with depression and anxiety when I'm sober without just going straight to thinking about booze, because that's what screwed me, I had no replacement for dealing with those feelings and a person will only sit sad and scared for so long until they turn to the only thing which will temporarily make them feel better.

First things is getting to an aa meeting and to the doctor to help with these issues. This time I'm not going it alone. I'll be looking into other ways of dealing with my problems, maybe meditation, maybe changing my diet (I'm sure the litres of coffee I drink every day can't be helping my anxiety/sleep issues). But like I said, I'll sort that when I can think straight.

One last, painful decision is to break things off with my girlfriend, and not get depressed and drink over it. I've already organised to stay with my brother for a week after we break up. She wants me to drink and has pressured me to relapse and then keep drinking after that, I cannot be with somebody who has such a blatant disregard for my wellbeing.