Notices

2 days sober cant shake the embarrassment

Old 09-17-2014, 04:38 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

2 days sober cant shake the embarrassment

Hi this is my first time post to anything like this but needed some help to get past these first few days. I have been i guess they call it a functional alcoholic for over 15 years I guess?

Well 2 days ago I decided I just cant keep up with this anymore. I was drinking before work, during, and after work and believe it or not keep that going for a very long time. The first morrning I decided to stop my boss calls me into her office to talk about a move within the office I will be making sort of a promotion and then proceeds to tell me someone brought to her attention they think I might be drinking at work. Thank god I actually had not been that morning. She just kind of mentioned it, I guess a warning not much else was said and of course I did not admit to it. Thankful i didnt get fired!

My problem now is I have to go into work everyday and look at coworkers whom I dont know who told and have them think of me as someone who would do such a thing. I am beyond embarrassed and its so hard to face the day.

It just sucks the very morning I decide to stop the madness, I am confronted. Ugh Hope someone has some advice on how to continue going to work with my head held high. I want nothing more to continue not drinking and live with this shame.

Thanks
Old 09-17-2014, 04:59 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

You do just that. You go to work with your head held high. The shame will not go away quickly, but your actions will show your co-workers and your boss that you have changed. Use this as a wake-up call.
Old 09-17-2014, 05:01 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Sounds like something to pay attention to. If it was only suspicion, and you do what is necessary to maintain sobriety, it will pass quickly.