Notices

Addicts, are we more self involved then the rest of society?

Old 09-15-2014, 08:25 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
misanthrope

Addicts, are we more self involved then the rest of society?

The answer to this question may seem obvious to some. Without blaming this on the drug of choice or the addiction itself are addicts/former addicts more self involved then the rest of society? Is that what gives us the capacity to indulge ourselves in addictions and ignore what those around us need?

Is it normal for us to put our needs in front of others, it seems to me like we are all obsessed with the addiction or the post addictive phase. Is it fair for me to ask these questions or do I just not know what I'm talking about here. It seems as though blaming my condition on a disease allows me an excuse for my addiction?

Before you bring out the firing squad, please understand i'm new to this and looking for honest opinions vs. canned answers. This is not meant to be critical. Just my .02 cents.

Thank you
Old 09-15-2014, 08:32 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Are we self centred ?

I can only speak for myself .... Yes, to my core.

"Self will run riot" is another phrase.
Old 09-15-2014, 08:40 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I think so yes... For me at least (see there?). Self pity is a big one too
Old 09-15-2014, 08:44 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Self-centred? Sure, I can certainly hold my hand up for that...

more than other people? I don't think so.
Take a look at FB sometime....

D
Old 09-15-2014, 08:45 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Recognizes the Beast

Yes, I would say so. I'm not saying that has changed in recovery, I would like to think that it has, but I'm not so sure.

However, my eyes sure have been opened to those who are still actively in addiction. I can think of a couple acquaintances who are some of the most self-absorbed, self-centered, narcissistic people I have ever come across. The idea of humility and surrender would be anathema to them.