Notices

7 days no booze...

Old 09-15-2014, 11:03 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

7 days no booze...

I've gone 7 days now without a drink, and it hasn't really been that difficult. I've never considered myself a heavy drinker, more the type of person that has a few (between 2-6) beers 4-7 nights a week. However, the majority of the time I do drink alone. I'm a single professional male in my mid 30's and would typically have a few drinks after work to wind down a bit with the occasional binge on the weekend - starting to drink before or around noon and going all day. I've always compared my intake to some of my peers, who could be considered professional partiers, the kind who get the shakes in the morning when they don't drink - and have always told myself that I didn't have much of a problem in contrast. However when I looked back over the last decade or more I realized that this has been going on now for almost 20 years.

About 9 months ago my father, who was one of these "professional partier" types took his own life after his health deteriorated to the point of no return. He was anti-doctor and never got any kind of diagnosis but we all had a feeling that the health problems he faced likely had to do with liver failure, and we also suspected he had skin cancer which he left untreated despite us voicing our concerns. His last few years were extremely grim, and I can't think of a worse way to spend your final years. In so much pain and isolation that it takes half a bottle of vodka and a case of beer every day to dull it out.