SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Newcomers to Recovery (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/)
-   -   new here (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/344484-new-here.html)

music1987 09-08-2014 05:54 PM

new here

Well, l am new here,
I have decided to take a long break from drinking as I feel my health and my ability to control my drinking is suffering. I am in a wonderful relationship and alcohol has caused problems. My health has been a concern to me for the past three years. During the week, I exercise and eat well, but on the weekends I drink non-stop. Sometimes i go on binges that last longer than just the weekend. I have been drinking like this for nine years. I get a mild discomfort around my liver after my binges that lasts for several days. I went to the doctor last year because of this and they said my liver was not inflamed and my bloodwork came back fine. I took that as an excuse to continue my reckless lifestyle. I am almost 28 and I worry I have perminant liver damage. The amount of shame and guilt i feel weighs heavy on my shoulders.

Anna 09-08-2014 06:00 PM

Hi and Welcome,

I'm glad you posted.

Shame and guilt and two things that keep us addicted. It's such a downward spiral because it leads back to drinking. I'm glad you're taking action and stopping drinking. Hopefully you will feel the positive effects of recovery and stop drinking for good. :)

Chrissy2014 09-08-2014 06:26 PM

Keep checking in, Music. I am happy you found this forum and wish you peace and clarity.

Sent from my iPad using SoberRecovery

Alynn 09-08-2014 06:32 PM

welcome music... your in the right place! We are all in this together... In the 8 days Ive been on here I have found so much hope for kicking this for good. Check in often, read, and post.

Soberwolf 09-08-2014 07:08 PM

Hello and welcome