Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > New to Addiction and Recovery? > Newcomers to Recovery
Reload this Page >

In the beginning of my journey and looking for some enlightenment

Notices

In the beginning of my journey and looking for some enlightenment

Old 08-23-2014, 11:41 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Red face In the beginning of my journey and looking for some enlightenment

So this is my first time on a forum like this. I am 31 years old and have abused alcohol off and on since I was a teenager. Over the past year I started developing severe anxiety. Being in denial, I never blamed alcohol for this anxiety. I have always had minor anxiety, but this anxiety was different. It was almost debilitating at times. I was drinking every day. It wasn't always a lot, sometimes only 1 or 2 drinks, but the alcohol was always there. I started cutting back my drinking in April, becoming a "weekend drinker". I would binge drink to the point of vomiting, which was something that was so familiar to me, I never saw it as wrong. I went on a business trip in May, which basically consisted of a bunch of classes followed by wild parties. Traveling sets off my anxiety, so I spent most of the week doped up on Xanax, and topped that off with binge drinking every night. I told myself when I came home that this would be it. I was starting to admit to myself that I truly had a problem. When I came home my anxiety was so bad I could barely function. I would sit at work watching the clock, praying for 4:30 to come so I could just go home to my comfortable place. My doctor prescribed me Prozac, which made life tolerable atleast at first, until a night of binge drinking on it. I thought I was going to die. That night in early June I finally truly admitted to myself that I have a problem, and that was the beginning of my journey.