Notices

I'm terrified

Old 08-15-2014, 01:13 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm terrified

I went through my last divorce 4 years ago and was placed on benzos to help me sleep due to "anxiety". As I was 1099 employee I lost my insurance and when my prescription ran out, I figured out that drinking would ameliorate my withdrawal symptoms.

I was rarely a drinker before this. Perhaps 4-6 units a month. I was totally dedicated to my kids, my fitness, and my mental health. I cry at night missing the person I was then.

I've posted on here before saying I was going to get sober and I did, but at the time I'd managed to get back on benzos.

I stopped drinking, and it was a great time and I made a lot of progress. However my profession is very mentally demanding and I kept trying to quit benzos due to the mental fog they induce.

What did I turn to whenever I had withdrawal symptoms? Alcohol. Instead of 1.5 mgs of Klonopin I could easily down tons of vodka during the day. A fifth or two at minimum.

Only two (ok and all of you) know this story. My GF, and my best friend of 20 years.

So I quit drinking and started another benzo taper using Valium. Five days ago I finished it. Yesterday I woke up with a panic attack that was uncontrollable. I had to be taken to the ER and given 20mgs of Valium which alleviated the symptoms but made me hate myself that I was back on the benzo train.

I have the best job I've ever had. I've been divorced twice but my GF is an absolute angel who pushes me to get better. My best friend calls me everyday to kick my ass and remind me not to **** my awesome life up. I have two wonderful children who I share everything with (except this).