Notices

Six months in... and suddenly craving booze

Old 08-12-2014, 10:06 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Six months in... and suddenly craving booze

Hi,
I'm a newbie to SR although I've come across threads from it when I've been googling recovery issues which have been helpful. .
I've been coasting along really, and after the first few months the craving more or less passed.
But I've been getting depressed lately over the issue that part of the reason I did drink to excess was to blot out feelings of not feeling 'good enough' and failing in / running away from / being hostile in social or potentially romantic situations. I feel a bit hopeless that those feelings are still there, that 20 years after I felt like that at Freshers week at university nothing seems to have changed. In my toolbox there's still only the trusty bottle of wine or three to fix it. Can anyone help? P x
Old 08-12-2014, 10:31 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Kaleidoscope eyes

Just sit tight and let it pass. It will. Hopelessness is horrible but it usually passes. If it doesn't have a word with your doctor. Perhaps he can help x
Old 08-12-2014, 10:39 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hmm, I do think it's necessary to get to the bottom of the issues to ensure continued recovery. The issues don't go away, which I think is what you're finding out. Have you made any changes in your life that could help you to deal with social/romantic situations with less stress? It's possible that therapy could help, journaling, talking to a trusted friend? I hope you can find a way to deal with these issues.
Old 08-12-2014, 10:48 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Welcome! I see a counselor about my issues and it helps me to deal with them. Is that possible for you?

Congrats on six months sober!
Old 08-12-2014, 11:10 AM
  # 5 (permalink)