Notices

long day full of ups but ending down

Old 08-02-2014, 01:39 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Crazy Cat Lady

long day full of ups but ending down

*sigh* i've had a day. So i started work at a pet grooming salon for a big pet store chain about 2 months ago. I have very limited grooming experience so i'm a trainee. When i got hired, the general manager basically told me that he eventually wanted me to eventually take over as salon manager since the current salon manager is cutting down to part time. I've kept quiet about that and just done my best to learn and be helpful. I'm a bit older than the other stylists and assistants so it's easy for me to not get involved in any drama and i don't like to gossip so i'm kinda just my own person there. They all know that i'm a recovering alcoholic. It kinda came up when one of them. Was struggling with a friend whose drinking is having a negative impact on her life and lives around her. I offered my advice and backed it up as a sober alcoholic. Good thing they know me sober

Well, today the salon manager came in (i opened) and went to speak with the GM. When she came back, she told me that she asked to be taken off the schedule as manager and that she'd had 2 people approach her this week and say that they think i'd make a good manager. She thinks so as well. I'm so humbled! I'm only 4 months sober and i can't believe that my manner now is one that inspires trust. It really means a lot to me. On top of that, my husband had a talk he had to give at work that he'd been stressing about and he reported that it went really well. My day was incredibly busy and i ended up working a couple of hours late. I was exhausted but i went out and picked up some household needs and dinner.