Notices

Old 07-27-2014, 11:08 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello,

I am new to Sober Recovery, just wanted to say hello. Today I woke up after another heavy night of drinking and sadly admitted that I cannot drink anymore. I feel it has gotten to a dangerous level for me. Scared I won't be able to do it alone so thought I would join to get advice from other sober people on how to handle early sobriety.
Old 07-27-2014, 11:11 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Community Greeter

Welcome happyfree! Great to meet you.

I felt the same way when I came to SR. I was exhausted from trying to control what I drank. Moderation never worked for me. I was always putting myself in dangerous & unpredictable situations - people were disappointed in me and I was miserable. I found the courage to stop by posting & reading here. I think you'll find the help you're looking for.
Old 07-27-2014, 11:12 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome to the Forum happyfree!!

You'll find loads of support here on SR!! It's great to have you onboard!!
Old 07-27-2014, 11:17 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR
This is a great site for support and full of people who have been there.
Hope to hear more from you!
Old 07-27-2014, 11:28 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by happyfree2525 View Post
Hello,

Scared I won't be able to do it alone so thought I would join to get advice from other sober people on how to handle early sobriety.
Welcome and go for it. We get better when we hang in there and don’t pick up the first drink even when the obsession seems very strong. The way we do it varies for the individual starting with try not to think about drinking, focus on other things, keep busy, walks help a lot, exercise, getting into a help program like AA, read the posts on this forum and on and on. Many other suggestions will follow.

BE WELL
Old 07-27-2014, 11:28 AM
  # 6 (permalink)