Notices

Hi

Old 06-27-2014, 09:08 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi

Hi, I just want to introduce myself. I'm an alcoholic. Wow. I've never said that before. My life is holding on by a shred. Any day I can screw things up and I know it. I'm a 44 year old female. I've been drinking for 30 years. I've managed to hold down a great job and raise a beautiful family. But my addiction has ME worn out. I'm tired and sick of walking around acting like nothing is wrong while I feel like crap 90% of my life. I'm sick of puking in the middle of the night. I'm sick and tired of being sick. I'm sick to think of those I've lost. Murders, overdoses. I want to live. Please tell me how you hang on so strong.
Old 06-27-2014, 09:19 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Wah nobody wants to talk to me
Old 06-27-2014, 09:24 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

welcome whyme, it's the getting through life and surviving while drinking that is the curse. Because eventually it catches up with you. It seems now is your time. What keeps me hanging on so strong is the remembrance of my past. And the fact that I don't ever want to be like that again. So I made a promise to myself that I would never drink again. Sure I went to a rehab and went to meetings and all that. The bottom line is that I was ready - and needed - to quit. Once I accepted that fact, the rest was easy. I wouldn't say real easy because there were times I wanted to have a drink. But I stuck to my guns and swore off drinking. And that's the bottom line. No matter what program, AA AVRT/RR or other self-help/improvement alcohol fixer uppers or whatever, until you are ready and determined to quit for good no program is going to help. Once you make that commitment then you can seek out and choose your method. Give AA a try. It's a good place to start.
Old 06-27-2014, 09:28 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi whyme

Don't take it personally - this is the downtime when most folks are either going to bed or already asleep.