Notices

Think through the drink

Old 06-02-2014, 03:25 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Think through the drink

I was watching a show recently, Scandal. The main characters were having a drink and I had an intense craving for a drink. I am over a year sober and this rarely happens any more. They were showing that they needed a drink after a rough day. I am a teacher and I have many rough days but I don't use alcohol to cope anymore.
I usually try to ignore the craving and it goes away. But this time I thought it through.
The first shot would be amazing and relaxing. So would the second and third shot. Relaxing, giddy, fantastic feeling. I would then continue the shots until I had maybe 5 or 6 in the first hour. While I would think it was amazing, I would soon start to feel stupid drunk, that lazy/heavy feeling in my head and body. I would do something stupid, mean and embarrassing. I would then black out, probably finish whatever size bottle I was taking drinks out of and possibly do something unforgettable. I would pass out, wherever that may be, take shots during the night and the next morning to curb the hangover. I would drink for another day or two to forget what I did and to curb the feeling of death, if I didn't already die from an overdose. I would eat gross food, smell like death and put on the 25 pounds that I lost over this last year and look and feel like as*. Then I would have to go through withdrawls again, if I was actually able to quit drinking and that would be like going through he** again.
So that first shot or two is not worth the amazing and relaxing feeling that I think I want. That 30 min of relaxation will truly only be 30 minutes, maybe. I used to want to get out of my head and forget things that are going on around me. I still do at times, but they aren't as bad as they used to be and I have the ability to cope with them.