Notices

Not sure on my next step?

Old 06-01-2014, 07:03 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
The Kid

Not sure on my next step?

Hey guys, the 4th of this month will mark 6 months of sobriety for me and I really need some life advice. I'm not sure if I'm okay to post this and if not, feel free to let me know and I'll remove it.

I'm young and I studied in University until my second year. I did very well in high school and the first year in Uni. My second year was when my drinking and depression took a turn for the worst so I decided to take a break for a year to get sorted.

It's the end of my year away and I have to decide what to do next. I feel like I'm not read to go back to Uni and I'm not even sure if I want to go back. I feel like it'll be years just showing I have the stomach to read books for three years which isn't what I want. I've already proved I'm academically skilled in high school and the first year of university.

I'm scared of looking for a job because I might end up in something dead-end. After my experiences with depression and drinking I just want to be able to support a family and help my parents with the bills. I know that education will help me break into the higher-paying job market but it won't benefit me as a person. I know I'm good at studying and don't feel like doing 3 years of that will be more beneficial than just working in a company and working my way up the ladder.

I thought it was okay to post here because I feel like after everything I've been through it has completely humbled me as a person. I have a limited time on this earth and I don't want to waste any of it. I know I have the capability to do well in most fields but I don't want to make a wrong decision that'll waste my time!

Any advice would be brilliant. Cheers
Old 06-01-2014, 07:05 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Sober since 10th April 2012